Stir Fry Udon

Hey there!

Weekend Recap:

This past weekend I went downtown and heard some good live jazz music at Highwire Lounge before I hopped over to 40 Watt Club to hear my roomie’s brother’s band, Back City Woods!

They were great!  My favorite thing to do is hear live music.  Back City Woods isn’t my personal taste in music (southern rock), but I still really enjoyed the concert.  They are good musicians and I can see them growing a fan base in Athens!

Now I have 1 thing to remind you of…

2 WEEKS UNTIL I’M ON A PLANE TO GREECE. (OK, it’s really 3 planes to get to Greece ;))  

Now that I’m only two weeks away, I feel like I have a lot of things to do to prepare!

I need to:

– Find comfy sandals (I’ve been told by many not to bring tennis shoes to Europe)
– Get my hair cut
– Figure out how to pack for 35 days in a small suitcase
– Finish deciding what I want to see in each place!
– Ok, I feel like there’s a lot more…

Anywho,  I’ve officially decided to bring the macbook along for the European ride, which means I will blog on the trip.  My plan is to write the blog posts while we’re traveling on a bus, train, or ferry.  Once I get to a place with internet, I’ll post them really quick! This will give me something to do during the down time.  Plus, I’m REALLY going to want to see my pictures on a computer screen. I can’t wait 35 days!

In other food news, tonight for dinner I made Stir Fry Udon!

It’s easy (of course!).

Ingredients: (Serves 4) > I altered it and made myself 1 serving!

  • 1/2 pound whole-grain udon noodles (or whole-wheat pasta)
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 1/2 pounds frozen shrimp, deveined
  • 1 package (16 ounces) frozen stir-fry vegetables
  • 1/4 cup almonds  >  (I didn’t add almonds.)
  • 1/4 cup sauce used for stir-fry, such as teriyaki, hoisin or soy
  • 1/4 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 teaspoon cornstarch
  • 1/4 cup chopped scallions (optional)
  • 1/4 cup toasted sesame seeds (optional)

Directions:

Cook noodles as directed on package. Heat oil on medium heat in a large sauté pan or wok. Cook shrimp until pink.

Add vegetables and almonds and cook 5 minutes, stirring frequently.


Combine sauce, orange juice and cornstarch in a bowl. Set aside.

When shrimp has cooked, add sauce mixture to pan and cook until sauce thickens.

Serve hot over udon. Top with scallions and sesame seeds, if desired.

This meal is great for singles because it’s just so darn easy!  I pulled my main ingredients out of the freezer and have plenty more veggies and shrimp to make this again later.

Well, I’m off. It’s late and I better be awake tomorrow for my last day of class! 🙂

– Question of the Day  –

What’s your favorite thing to do on the weekends?

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

