Quick Shrimp n’ Grits

Before we get to the good food…

Today I finally received my information on my flight to Europe!

It turns out I am taking a flight from Atlanta to Washington D.C., D.C. to Frankfurt, and finally Frankfurt to Athens.  Phew! It looks like it will be a grand total of 16 hours traveling.  I think I will take a sleeping pill on the plane from D.C. to Frankfurt.  It is a 10 hour flight and it will help me adjust to the time zone difference.  Once I get to Athens there is no time to recover.  I start exploring the city right away! (That might be the only time in my life I will consider taking 5 Hour Energy…)

Now I’m really starting to freak out about packing.  Thankfully Julie from Peanut Butter Fingers just recently posted on What to Pack for a Trip to Europe, which really helps!  I’m still concerned because my bag has to be under 50 pounds and I will be there for 35 days.  Plus I will want to leave room in my suitcase for things to bring back.  Ahh!  Anyone got any packing advice? It will be greatly appreciated! 🙂

OK. Back to food. 

In case you didn’t know, I’m a southern girl.  In fact, I’m a Georgia Peach. 😉

Down here in the south, we eat this food called grits.  Typically it’s eaten for breakfast, but it’s also really good with shrimp or any seafood.  I’ve heard stories that you can’t find grits in the grocery store in the northern states.  Is it true?  I can’t even imagine.  Grits are so good!

Tonight I felt like eating a southern favorite: Quick Shrimp n’ Grits.


Ingredients: (Serves 1)

  • 1/4 cup dry stoneground grits
  • 1 cup water
  • pinch of salt and pepper
  • 1/4 cup grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • 1 tsp butter
  • 1 slice thick cut bacon
  • 5 large raw shrimp, tails off
  • 1/4 cup sliced green onions
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
Directions: (25 minutes)
  • Boil a pot of water on the stove and add the grits.  Add salt and pepper to the grits to taste.  Reduce the heat to simmer and cook until the grits fully absorb the water.  Take off the heat, stir in cheese and butter, then set aside.
  • While the grits are cooking, fry the bacon on low heat on a skillet.  Once the bacon is crispy, remove it from the pan and crumble it (Don’t pour out the grease from the pan!).
  • Turn up the heat and add the shrimp to the pan.  Cook the shrimp for about 30 seconds, or until they turn pink and curl up.  Remove the shrimp to a plate.
  • Add the sliced green onions, garlic, and crumbled bacon to the skillet.  Cook these for about 30 seconds.
  • Pour the green onions/bacon/garlic on top of your grits and top it off with shrimp!

Enjoy!

 

Where are you from?  Have you ever eaten grits?

2 Comments

Filed under Dinner

2 responses to “Quick Shrimp n’ Grits

  1. rosean

    I’m glad I did a month trip touring Europe when I was 20 and am really excited my daughter gets to do it at 21! Doing that type of trip is definitely best when you are young and full of energy! 🙂

  2. Wonderful goods from you, man. I’ve take into account your stuff previous to and you’re just extremely magnificent.
    I actually like what you’ve got right here, certainly like what you’re stating and the best way wherein
    you assert it. You’re making it entertaining and you still take care of to keep it wise. I cant wait to learn much more from you. This is really a great website.

Leave a comment