Broccoli Cheddar Soup


For some reason, in the middle of May, I have a nasty cold.  I have no idea where this came from!  At first I assumed it was allergies, but it has gotten worse and worse.  Bleh.  I also started my Maymester course “Symbolic Logic,” which apparently requires 4 hours of homework every single day.  Whew.  Just gotta get through these next few weeks!

Since I have a cold, I decided to make Broccoli Cheddar Soup! I also embraced the fact that it’s not 100 degrees outside like usual.  It was actually a little chilly… Weird!

Broccoli Cheddar Soup: (Serves 2)

Ingredients:

  • 1/2 tablespoon melted butter
  • 1/4 medium chopped onion
  • 1/8 cup melted butter
  • 1/8 cup flour
  • 1 cup half-and-half cream
  • 1 cup chicken stock
  • 1/4 lb fresh broccoli
  • 1/2 cup carrot, julienned
  • 1/8 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 4 ounces grated sharp cheddar cheese
  • salt and pepper
Directions:
  • Sauté onion in butter. Set aside.
  • Cook melted butter and flour using a whisk over medium heat for 3-5 minutes. Stir constantly and add the half & half.
  • Add the chicken stock. Simmer for 20 minutes.
  • Add the broccoli, carrots and onions. Cook over low heat 20-25 minutes.
  • Add salt and pepper. Return to heat and add cheese. Stir in nutmeg.

Now I’m off to bed. I need sleeeeep!  See you tomorrow bloggy friends! 🙂

What’s your favorite meal to eat when you have a cold?

Leave a comment

Filed under Dinner

Leave a Reply

