The Importance of Keeping Your Life Balanced

First, let’s start with lunch.  (Breakfast and dinner went un-documented, but I promise it wasn’t interesting..)

Today I made a remix of last nights dinner.  I purposely made more chicken last night so that I could create a Buffalo Chicken Wrap today!  Clever, huh?

To balance out the Buffalo Chicken spice, I ate carrots and celery on the side, which I dipped in ranch dressing.

All I did was add my Two Ingredient Buffalo Chicken to a tortilla wrap. On the inside there was also spinach leaves and shredded cheddar cheese. Yum.

Now to an un-food related topic!

The Importance of Keeping Your Life Balanced

This semester I learned a big lesson the hard way.  I (for some reason) thought it wouldn’t be that bad to take 19 hours on top of giving a piano recital.  I took 10 classes and could not keep up with all the assignments for all of them. Along with all that, I had physical therapy twice a week, which often lasted two hours per session.  I am not doing terrible in school, but I am not giving my full potential.  Because I spread myself too thin, I could only give mediocre work to everything.  I never had time to breathe and most nights I got about 5 to 6 hours of sleep (not to mention several all-nighters).  I felt unhappy and didn’t enjoy something that I have loved my whole life – playing music! Recently, I made a decision to graduate a bit later so that I will NOT spread myself too thin ever again.

If you are experiencing this rut, here are some questions I asked myself when I decided to make some major schedule changes…

1. Analyze Your Lifestyle

What are you doing all day?  What is robbing all your time?  Are you happy with how you’re living your life?

For me, 19 hours of classes was robbing all my time.  I was so busy that I feel like I learned almost nothing.  I also didn’t improve anywhere near as much as I could have.   Like I said earlier, I was unhappy and always stressed!  All I did was schoolwork.  If I wasn’t doing schoolwork then I was worrying about schoolwork.  All I cared about was myself and my stresses. Pretty selfish.  Overall, I’d say that’s not a very good lifestyle.

2. What is most important to you?

For me, every day I would like to have time to: read the Bible, exercise, practice instruments adequately, spend time with friends, and do all my schoolwork (this means without pulling all-nighters!)  Though I could easily drop a degree (I am double-majoring), I decided that it was still important for me to keep on going with my two degrees.

3. What can be eliminated/changed in your schedule to allow time for the “important” things?

Since I didn’t want to eliminate one of my degrees, I decided to graduate a semester later.  For others who are too busy, this may mean you should drop a club, work less hours, drop a leadership role, etc.   Don’t feel bad about dropping something from your schedule or taking longer to get something done.  After all, there are only 24 hours in each day!  Instead of doing mediocre work, we should do things with our full potential.

“Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for human masters.”

– Colossians 3:23

Anyways, I thought I’d share these lessons I’ve learned since this blog is not only about food, but also about self-improvement a bit as well. 🙂

What do you do to balance your life?

6 Comments

Filed under Life Lessons, Lunch

6 responses to “The Importance of Keeping Your Life Balanced

  1. rosean

    great article!

  2. thanks so much for commenting on my blog. I LOVE yours and this post really speaks to me. I have been spending a lot of time lately evaluating how I spend my time. I love how you broke it down into those 3 simple questions which really show so much.

  3. anonymous

    Hey, just found your blog and love it! I’m also a piano performance major and think your really musical in your videos. keep up the good work! I just did a recital too this year which was stressful but I’m glad you realized to take extra time so you can really enjoy yourself.

  4. Pingback: My Junior Year of College | Seven Plates

Leave a Reply

