Tuscan White Bean Pasta

Hello blog friends!

This afternoon I hopped on over to the grocery store.  While I was shopping, I feared my food would cost over $50 (my cart looked pretty darn full), but it all ended up being a whopping $49.53.  I’d say that’s not to shabby for a full week of food! That’s about $2.30 per meal! 😀

By the time I got home I was starving and ready to eat.  I decided to make Tuscan White Bean Pasta, which I found from the blog Budget Bytes (http://budgetbytes.blogspot.com) this afternoon.

To make this recipe, you will need:

8 oz. linguine
1 Tbsp olive oil
1 Tbsp butter
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 pint grape or cherry tomatoes
10 cranks freshly ground pepper
1/2 Tsp salt
1/2 Tsp basil
1 can white beans
1 bunch of baby spinach (6 cups)
16 oz. shredded parmesan

The first thing I did was begin boiling my water for my linguine.  Then I placed my olive oil, garlic, and butter on a skillet.

Once the garlic softened, I added my halved tomatoes into the mix.  I kept them there for 2 minutes until the tomatoes softened.

Then I added my beans to the mix with half of the juice from the can.  I let this simmer for about 7-10 minutes.

After this, I added the fresh spinach. I turned the stove on low and waited until it wilted.

Then I added the pasta and mixed it all up!

I think I added a little too much linguine to the mix, but I ended up making it work on my plate.  I added some parmesan cheese to the top!

YUM!  This is quite a cheap and easy meal to make.

And for all you singles out there —  this meal makes great leftovers.  I will be enjoying this for a few days!

After dinner my tummy wanted something sweet.  (You guys will eventually see how much of a sweet tooth I am) I grabbed some oreo ice cream and strawberries. 😀

While cooking tonight I enjoyed the sweet sounds of the Local Natives.  I’m really enjoying this band and I love listening to some good tunes while I cook!

Here’s a little preview if you haven’t heard of them before…

Now I’m off to finish some homework and head on over to a 21st birthday partay!  Weee!

Hope you guys have a great Saturday night!

Do you like to listen to music while you cook?  If so, what music do you listen to?


3 Comments

Filed under Pasta

3 responses to “Tuscan White Bean Pasta

  1. Looks so easy and yummy!

    Right now I’m listening to Lykke Li when I cook! Either that or something chill like She & Him or Arcade Fire.

  2. Pingback: Addicted to Adele | Seven Plates

Leave a Reply

